Making Homemade Hand Sanitizer With Booze + Aloe Vera Gel + Bowl

 

A few weeks ago, I got caught barehanded without Purel and disinfecting wipes, so felt the need to make the homemade concoction.  Originally, recipes called for two parts 91% isopropyl alcohol and one part aloe vera gel.  Easy I thought.  Ha,  you laugh.  You were right.  Bottles of pure aloe vera were easy to get, but finding alcohol of the correct potency proved unsuccessful.

A week later, the CDC (Centers for Disease Control) announced that 60% alcohol was satisfactory, upon which my husband calmly turned to me and said, “Everclear.”  “Huh?,”  I replied.  “Everclear,” said my man of few words and began searching the internet.

Moments later, he triumphantly pointed to a photo of a clear bottle of booze on his iPad.  In California, Everclear grain alcohol comes 120 proof, meaning it’s 60 percent alcohol.  What???  After a week of fruitless hunting for isopropyl alcohol, it turned out this handy substitute was at the liquor store in a nearby town.  Within forty minutes, I burst through our door with a 750 ml bottle in each hand – a gleeful buyer of some of the last bottles in the area.

 

2ABBD65F-183D-405C-B234-FAD649CB9A79With the hard part over, mixing up the brew was relatively easy.  Or so I thought.  Two parts alcohol to one part aloe vera, what’s so hard.  From the 750 ml bottle, I marked the top, then poured out 250 ml into a measuring cup.  Squeezed enough aloe vera into the Everclear bottle to reach the marker.  Shake and done…well no, it was a mistake.  The green globules simply float around the booze.

I had to pour the mixture into a clean bowl and beat it with a whisk.  Like magic, the brew thickened and become cohesive.  Now too thick to get it back in the bottle, the green gel was dumped into a one-gallon plastic bag.  I cut a corner and squeezed the precious sanitizer back into the Everclear bottle.  Later I’ll screw on a pump purchased from a restaurant supply store (search the aisle that has bottled flavorings for coffee- heck, if you’re “shelter in place” then order by mail).

Now that we’re all gathered at home, I have time to ask my human computer about his knowledge of Everclear and it’s alcohol content, which can be up to 190 proof – an unbelievable 95% alcohol.  He doesn’t drink, except for an occasional beer, so his detailed knowledge of specialty booze surprised me.  Thirty plus years of marriage and still a man of mystery.

 

 

Leave a comment